Restaurant Review: Red’s True Barbecue

Restaurant Review: Red's True BarbecueA new place called Red’s True Barbecue has opened up in town and boy – there’s a lot of buzz surrounding it! Me and the Mr had to check it out… purely for research purposes you understand. (Yeah right!)

Boasting a menu packed with slow cooked smoked meats & simple, unadulterated sides – Red’s really does sound like barbecue heaven. But does it live up to the hype?

Restaurant Review: Red's True BarbecueLets start with the decor. It’s pretty damn cool. There’s a real funky industrial feel to the place. With tons of exposed concrete wall, breeze blocks & pipes – it definitely feels very ‘current’ without being overly modern or uncomfortable.

Restaurant Review: Red's True BarbecueThe kitchen is virtually open with only these ‘playground’ type mesh doors separating it from the restaurant. This fits in really well with the hustle and bustle of the place.

And the staff? They were perfectly attentive without being over bearing. Every single person was cheery & exactly what you want when you go out for dinner.

To give you an example, I asked for an iced tea without ice. (Don’t judge me – I’m 8 and a half months pregnant!) My drink was brought to me by a different server, with ice. Within seconds, the original server noticed, promptly apologized and rectified the problem. I didn’t even get a chance to complain. In my opinion, that’s great service. Things are bound to go wrong from time to time, it can’t be helped. It’s the way you deal with them that makes or breaks a place for me and they literally couldn’t have handled that any better. Brilliant!

Onto the food.

As it was a Monday lunch time, me and the Mr opted for their “S’wiches” with sides.

The Mr chose the ‘Smoked Brisket & Burnt Ends S’Wich’ with their famous onion rings & some fries.

Restaurant Review: Red's True BarbecueI’ve heard a lot about these ‘burnt ends.’ Although they don’t sound appealing, they definitely live up to their reputation! They’re gorgeously smokey with a delightfully charred barbecue flavour. And the brisket was so juicy it practically melted in your mouth. Safe to say the Mr was very happy with his choice!

Restaurant Review: Red's True BarbecueAnd as for those onion rings, I mean seriously – look at the size of them!! They’re insane! Even the Mr said, “I’m not sure how to even start eating these…” We did actually find them quite greasy, however, still very tasty.

I chose ‘The Pitmaster S’wich’ with sweet potato fries. (Comprised of black angus brisket, cheese & jalepeño smoked sausage, Red’s pulled pork & tangy slaw, south Carolina BBQ sauce and a fried pickle, all served in a brioche bun.)

Restaurant Review: Red's True BarbecueActually mind blowing how good this was! First thing I noticed was how amazing the slaw was. And I love my coleslaw – I’m very picky! It was so fresh & crunchy – and I would love to know what the dressing was, I’d make it all the time at home if I did!

As for the meats, that brisket was mouth wateringly juicy & the sausage was so damn flavourful! What about the pulled pork? Beautiful. It’s a genuine drool inducer people – you need to go try this!

Oh, and let’s not forget the sweet potato fries. They were impeccably crispy on the outside and soft in the middle. Absolute perfection.

Restaurant Review: Red's True BarbecueI’m with you on this Red – I believe. I definitely believe!

I am genuinely impressed with this place. The venue is great, the staff are fantastic & the food is seriously good. And value for money? Taking the whole package into account – I think the pricing is spot on for what you get. If you have a chance, you really should go check this place out for yourself and you will agree with me I’m sure of it.

Want to know more? Check out their website here: Red’s True Barbecue.

Finally, I’d just like to add that I am not being paid to write this review. All opinions & images are my own and completely unbiased. It really is a great new eatery and one you should definitely put on your ‘to do’ list.

9/10.

I hope you enjoyed the post my lovelies!

Miss KitchenMason

One comment on “Restaurant Review: Red’s True Barbecue

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

