Croque Monsieur

Croque MonsieurMost Sunday mornings, I make the Mr a bacon sarnie. Me? I quite often desire something a little more… ‘fancy.’

This week I had some spare ham and cheese so thought I would use the opportunity to make myself a Croque Monsieur for breakfast. For those of you that haven’t heard of this french delight, it’s basically a glorified cheese & ham toastie. Though I can confirm – it’s WELL worth the extra effort!

Here is what you will need to make 1 sandwich.

Making for more? Simply times the ingredients by the amount of people you are feeding.

  • 2 Slices of Thick White Bread
  • 60g Cheddar Cheese, Grated
  • 1 Slice Ham
  • 1/2 tbsp (8g) Butter
  • 1/2 tbsp (4g) Plain Flour
  • 100ml Semi Skimmed Milk
  • Ground or Freshly Grated Nutmeg
  • Salt & Pepper
  • 15g Parmesan, Grated
  • Honey Mustard (or Dijon Mustard)

Preheat your oven to 200°C/Fan 180°C.

In a toaster or under the grill, lightly toast the bread until just golden on both sides.

To make the sauce, melt the butter in a saucepan over a low heat then throw in the flour.

Stir constantly over the low heat for 2 minutes. It should look a little something like this…

Croque MonsieurGradually add in the milk bit by bit, stirring constantly and fairly vigorously to smooth out any lumps.

When the milk is all used up, you should end up with a slightly thick white sauce.

Croque MonsieurAdd in a little nutmeg & season well with salt and pepper. Then stir through the parmesan cheese. If the sauce is still a little runny, turn the heat up to medium and cook, stirring constantly, until it thickens.

You want it thick enough to be able to spoon on the top of the sandwich without it running off the sides.

Croque MonsieurNow you are ready for assembly!

Spread a thin layer of honey (or dijon) mustard onto one slice of bread…

Croque MonsieurNow top both slices with grated cheddar cheese, reserving a little for the top.

Croque MonsieurThen place the ham on top of the slice with mustard on it…

Croque MonsieurNext, place the bread with just cheddar cheese on top of the slice with ham on it.

Pour over the sauce and spread around evenly. Then top with the remaining cheddar cheese and place onto a baking tray.

Croque MonsieurBake in the oven for 5 minutes then turn on the grill.

Grill until the topping is all golden, bubbly and oh so sexy…

Croque Monsieur

Croque MonsieurAnd that is what you need to do to create one of the most incredible breakfast/brunch dishes in the entire world. I told you it was better than a ham and cheese toastie!

I mean, literally, as soon as you cast your eyes over that sultry, golden, bubbly topping – you won’t be able to resist it’s charm. I implore you not to skip on the honey mustard & nutmeg either. I swear to the gods – they make this sing like a celestial being sent from heaven to implement world peace! Genuinely… absolutely… divine. You NEED to make this!

The Mr was a little jealous when I sat down next to him with this vs. his humble bacon sarnie. I think I might be making two next time…

And on that note, I hope you enjoyed the post my lovelies!

Miss KitchenMason

 

 

 

19 comments on “Croque Monsieur

  1. I love the recipe of the sauce… must try!

  2. kcinaz says:

    Looks most yummy. Had to put in my Pinterest.

  3. You are right! I NEED to make this… Don’t take this the wrong way, but anytime I’m feeling like a grilled cheese, I’ll hope to remember to make this grown-up version instead!

  4. justinkamp18 says:

    Reblogged this on Mediterranean Diet Food and commented:
    Croque Monsieur

  5. juhina1101 says:

    Reblogged this on Me, Myself & I and commented:
    This is so tempting that I’m going to make one for myself right now! A perfect start for a perfect day 🙂

  6. I am a massive croque monsieur & madame fan.. in fact I have dedicated recipes to them on my blog! Definitely need to try your recipe, looks delicious.

  7. hipfoodie says:

    mmm! My ultimate comfort food 🙂

  8. Alyssa says:

    A million times better than your average grilled cheese! I just wanted to let you know that I have a website (Simply Creative Recipes) where I showcase recipes that I find and I am linking to this post if you don’t mind. You are welcome to submit your recipes to my site if you’d like!

  9. mmm, that looks so good! Sometimes I wish I wasn’t a vegetarian…

  10. also, my last name is Mason, are you a Mason too?

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

