Gluten Free Chocolate & Peanut Butter Brownies

Gluten Free Chocolate & Peanut Butter BrowniesWhen I visited the Cake & Bake Show in April, I came across the greatest brownie I have ever eaten in my life. It was hand made by the wonderful guys over at Ginger Bakers in Kendal. The most surprising thing? They were gluten free! And yet still vastly superior to any glutenous brownie I’ve eaten. Ever since this life changing moment, I have been on the hunt for a recipe that is equal to it’s food-gasmic sorcery.

There are literally hundreds of brownie recipes out there so I knew my quest was going to be a long & treacherous one. The delightful side effect of this quest? All the amazing new brownies I’m going to try along the way! And I must say, this one is definitely up there on the foodgasm chart.

Here is what you will need to make 16 of these sensational chocolate & peanut butter brownies.

  • 310g Icing Sugar, Sifted
  • 200g Ground Almonds
  • 80g Cocoa Powder, Sifted
  • Pinch of Salt
  • 1 tsp Coffee Granules, Dissolved in 1 tbsp Cold Water
  • 4 Egg Whites
  • 2 tsp Vanilla Extract

For the Topping

  • 100g Smooth Peanut Butter
  • 35g Milk Chocolate Chips

Essential Equipment

  • 20 x 20cm/8″ x 8″ Square Cake Tin

First thing to note, do NOT be put off by the almonds and coffee. Even I’m not a massive fan, but you will taste neither in the finished product I promise. The almonds are effectively a substitute for flour and the coffee is only there to make the chocolate taste more chocolatey.

Right! Lets crack on.

Lightly grease and line the base & 2 sides of  the square baking tin & preheat your oven to 180°C/Fan 170°C.

In a very large bowl, whisk together the icing sugar, ground almonds, cocoa powder & salt until everything is evenly mixed.

Gluten Free Chocolate & Peanut Butter BrowniesMake a well in the centre then add the coffee, egg whites & vanilla extract. Using a spatula, mix it all together until you have a thick and dark batter.

Gluten Free Chocolate & Peanut Butter BrowniesPour it into the prepared tin and level out with the back of a metal spoon.

Gluten Free Chocolate & Peanut Butter BrowniesBeat the peanut butter until smooth & loose then dot blobs all over the top of the brownie batter.

Gluten Free Chocolate & Peanut Butter Brownies-4Take a cocktail stick or a sharp knife and run it through the batter, swirling the peanut butter around. Lastly, top with a scattering of the milk chocolate chips.

Gluten Free Chocolate & Peanut Butter BrowniesBake in the preheated oven for 30-35 mins until an inserted skewer comes out almost clean.

Allow to sit in the tin for a few minutes then remove & place on a wire rack to cool completely.

Gluten Free Chocolate & Peanut Butter BrowniesOnce cooled, slice into 16 equal pieces, marvel at the beauty before you, then precede to gobble without coming up for air.

Gluten Free Chocolate & Peanut Butter BrowniesI’m really struggling to find the words to describe how good these are. I mean, the texture is just SO soft & fudgy and oh my life are they chocolatey! Magnificently rich & decadent and… hang on, sorry, you’ll have to bear with me while I drag myself out a puddle of my own drool.

Ok, so they’re good. And you’re gonna make them. Meanwhile, I’m not satisfied that these top the Ginger Bakers gluten free brownies, despite how amazing they are. So my quest continues!

I hope you enjoyed the post my lovelies, until next time.

Miss KitchenMason

10 comments on “Gluten Free Chocolate & Peanut Butter Brownies

  1. Kim says:

    I am allergic to almonds – do you know if ground walnuts would work?

  2. Ala says:

    I love it–gluten-free brownies really leave you craving some more in an awesome fudgy way! I find it great that you have an ‘ultimate’ brownie experience and taste you’re trying to replicate…best of luck along the way! 😉

  3. Virginia Griffith says:

    What is icing sugar? Is it confectioner’s sugar?

  4. Pat lefebvre says:

    New to the journey……why in grams?….

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

