Melton Mowbray Artisan Cheese Festival

Yesterday me and the Mr went to the Artisan Cheese Fair situated in picturesque Melton Mowbray. With around 200 different cheeses and over 50 of the top cheese makers in the country all in one place – it was bound to be a trip I was going to enjoy!

I thought I’d share a few pics with you lovely lot and I hope they inspire you to go next year!

Melton Mowbray Artisan Cheese Fair“Hard Pressed” apple juice & apple and beetroot juice. Surprisingly delicious!

Melton Mowbray Artisan Cheese FairBeautiful, creamy Lancashire cheese from Mrs Kirkhams.

Melton Mowbray Artisan Cheese FairAward winning Bradburys cheese.

Melton Mowbray Artisan Cheese FairHuge chuckles of blue cheese from Stichelton Dairy.

Melton Mowbray Artisan Cheese FairA little bit of live, light hearted music to entertain. If I remember correctly they were singing “I’ve got a brand new combine harvester.”

Melton Mowbray Artisan Cheese FairAnother huge chuckle of cheese! This one is Vintage Poacher.

Melton Mowbray Artisan Cheese FairMore Vintage Poacher.

Melton Mowbray Artisan Cheese FairPeakland white cheese from The Hartington Cheese & Wine Company.

Melton Mowbray Artisan Cheese FairThe cheese the lady is cutting is an Oak smoked Newport cheese from Mr Moydens. Absolutely divine!

Melton Mowbray Artisan Cheese FairAward winning blue cheese from Burts Blue Cheese.

Melton Mowbray Artisan Cheese FairThis sign for Celtic Promise Cheese wasn’t lying… it stank to high heaven!! One of the strongest cheeses I have ever eaten and it was the gift that just keeps giving. It lingered for a good 20 minutes after! I’m still not sure whether I liked it or hated it haha.

Melton Mowbray Artisan Cheese FairMore Celtic Promise Cheese.

Melton Mowbray Artisan Cheese FairSome beautiful fresh coffee beans in a multitude of different flavours like sticky gingerbread, banoffee pie and maple & pecan. From Cherizena.

Melton Mowbray Artisan Cheese FairSome amazing savoury pies from Brockleby’s!

Melton Mowbray Artisan Cheese FairMore gorgeous pies from Brockleby’s, of the sweet kind this time.

Melton Mowbray Artisan Cheese FairSome lovely and unique sloeberry liquors from Sloeberry Spirits.

And that just about concludes our day out! It really was a lovely day and I’m definitely satisfied now I’ve eaten my own body weight in cheese!

Until next time lovelies

Miss KitchenMason

 

7 comments on “Melton Mowbray Artisan Cheese Festival

  1. Hi there, I think your blog is great!! Are you near Melton Mowbray?
    I thought it was famous for it´s pies, not cheese!!

    • Haha I’m not too far away. And yes, so did I! But the Mr (& research) actually proved me wrong. It’s one of the homes of stiliton cheese as well as it’s legendary pork pie. We learn something new every day! And thank you for your kind words about my blog, that’s very sweet of you x

      • OK. We have moved close to Melton and I am in the process of setting up my own food blog. I, like you am not trained, just a very enthusiastic home cook who loves to see people enjoying my food.
        From what I have seen of your site I will be following your recipes as they look stunning!!
        Can you tell me are the photos taken using a digital SLR?

      • Oh fantastic! Yes they are, I use a Canon 600D with two lenses. A 50mm lense for the nicer, close up pictures (usually seen at the beginning and end of my posts) and a standard 18-55mm lense for the step by step pics. The second lense came with my camera but the 1st was bought separately. If you’re serious about blogging I highly recommend it. I used to get so frustrated with how bad my photos were until I bit the bullet & invested. Best thing I EVER did! x

      • Just as I thou ght. I have been using a point and shoot cheap thing and wondered why the photos were´nt as clear as I expected. Looks like I am going shopping!
        Can I be cheeky and ask for some tips when I get started?
        And keep the recipes coming!!!!!

      • Of course! My photos have been a long but progressive journey (as you can see if you look at some old posts!) I am more than happy to share what I can to help 🙂

      • Thank you. That´s very kind of you.

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

