Soda Bread

Soda Bread

This year I have developed a love for baking bread but it can take quite a long time, which I don’t always have! I had seen soda bread recipes before but never tried them as I didn’t think I would enjoy the stodginess of it. Then I realised how quick it actually was to make and thought, wow – I’m gona’ give it a go! (Recipe from Paul Hollywood’s How to Bake book.)

Here is what you will need to make one loaf:

  • 500g Strong White Bread Flour
  • 1 tsp Bicarbonate of Soda
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 400ml Buttermilk

Yep, that’s it!

First things first, preheat your oven to 200°C/Fan 180°C.

Then all you need to do is put the flour in a large bowl and stir in the bicarbonate of soda & the salt. Make a well in the centre and pour in the buttermilk.

Making the DoughSlowly mix and bring together to form a sticky dough – don’t overwork it. Then tip out onto a floured work surface and quickly form a round. (Bicarbonate of soda activates quickly as opposed to yeast which works slowly, so you need to get it into the oven as fast as possible.)

Shaping the BReadMark the dough into quarters – cut deeply but not all the way through the base. Then dust with flour and pop onto a baking tray.

Ready for the OvenBake in the centre of a preheated oven for about 30-40 minutes until it is a dark golden colour on top & hollow when tapped on the base.

Doorstop Soda Sarnie!I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised with this bread. It literally took less than an hour from start to finish to make and it tasted so good that I happily forgave the stodginess. In fact, I actually quite like the stodginess! It’s so wholesome and filling!

I was going to cut it into normal slices but I had to challenge myself and see if I really could get my big chops around a whole quarter. Depressingly, I did manage it haha!

If you’ve been thinking about getting into bread making, I would recommend this as the perfect recipe to start you on your way. It’s super fast, simple & surprisingly tasty. I’m quite sure this will now be my go to “I need bread quick!” recipe from now on.

Hope you all enjoyed the post my lovelies.

Miss KitchenMason

2 comments on “Soda Bread

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

