Greek Chicken Salad

Greek Chicken SaladI figured it’s about time I treated you lovely lot to a healthy recipe for a change. Don’t get me wrong, I love my puddings and devilish treats as much as the next person, but every now and then I do eat healthily I promise!

This recipe comes courtesy of Jamie’s 15-Minute Meals book. I was a little dubious when I first got it but I can honestly say that every recipe I have made from this book so far has not disappointed!

Here is what you will need to make more than enough for 2 people. (Easily doubled.)

Couscous

  • 1/2 Mug (150g) Couscous
  • 1 Pepper (any colour)
  • 1/2 Fresh Red Chilli
  • 2 Spring Onions
  • 1/4 Bunch of Fresh Dill
  • 100g Peas (fresh or frozen)
  • 1tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 20g Feta Cheese

Chicken

  • 1 Large Chicken Breast (or 2 x small)
  • 1/2 heaped tsp dried Oregano
  • 1/2 tsp Allspice
  • Zest of 1/2 Lemon
  • Olive Oil

Tzatziki

  • 1/4 Cucumber
  • 125g Fat Free Natural Yoghurt
  • Juice of half a Lemon
  • 1/4 bunch Fresh Mint

Place the couscous in a bowl with a pinch of salt. Add in 1 mug of boiling water then cover with cling film and leave to one side.

CouscousPut a heavy non stick pan over a medium heat. Place the chicken on a big piece of greaseproof paper, add salt & pepper, the oregano, allspice and lemon zest. Massage it all in then fold over the paper. Bash the chicken with a rolling pin until it’s about 1.5cm thick.

ChickenAdd the olive oil into the pan then put in the chicken. Fry until golden and cooked through. (About 8 mins)

Frying the ChickenTo make the Tzatziki, coarsley grate the cucumber. Sprinkle over a generous amount of salt then squeeze out all the excess water. Pop it into a bowl with the yoghurt & lemon juice. Finely chop the mint, add it to the bowl with some pepper and mix well.

TzatzikiRemove the seeds & stalk from both the pepper & the chilli. Trim the ends off the spring onions and put it all in a food processor along with the dill. (Reserving some for decoration.) Blitz until it’s finely chopped.

Blending the VegetablesIf using frozen peas – blanch in boiling water first. Then add them into the veg and mix.

Fluff up the couscous with a fork in a big serving dish then mix in the veg. Slice the chicken and place on top. Drizzle over a little lemon juice, some olive oil and scatter on some fresh dill. Crumble over the feta cheese and serve with the bowl of tzatziki.

Greek Chicken SaladThis one really surprised me! It’s refreshing, light, zingy AND it’s super quick to make – bonus!

I highly recommend this book to anyone who is looking for quick and healthy meals to make. Jamie’s recipes somehow make vegetables taste good! Instead of it feeling like a chore to eat healthily, Jamie makes it really rather enjoyable.

One final note – I would like to wish my lovely Mum a very Happy Mother’s Day today, and all the other wonderful Mum’s out there too! I hope you were all spoilt rotten and had a great day.

Hope you enjoyed this weekends post chaps and chapettes!

Miss KitchenMason

6 comments on “Greek Chicken Salad

  1. Mum says:

    Wow…thats my kind of food 🙂 it looks so good I have my fork ready to dive in!!!

  2. Greetings! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering
    which blog platform are you using for this website? I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues
    with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  3. Forex says:

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources
    back to your webpage? My blog site is in the very same niche as yours and my visitors
    would really benefit from some of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this ok with you. Cheers!

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

