Cheese & Mustard Scones

Are you struggling to think of ideas for your festive party buffet? You’ve looked through all the Christmas Recipes, you’ve got the Mince Pies & the cheese board – but what’s missing? Cheese & mustard scones!

Cheese & Mustard Scones

I recently acquired the Baking Mad “British Baking in 2012” book. It has all sorts of lovely recipes including peanut butter cookies, raspberry ripple ice cream and even a recipe for cupcakes. Although, I saw this enticing savoury recipe and knew I had to try it! Here is what you will need to make about 12.

  • 225g Plain Flour, seived
  • 1 tbsp Baking Powder
  • 50g Unsalted Butter, cold & cubed
  • 1 tbsp Fresh Thyme Leaves
  • 1/2 tsp English Mustard Powder
  • 50g Extra Mature Cheddar, grated
  • 25g Parmesan, grated
  • 2 Eggs
  • 3 tbsp Buttermilk, plus extra to glaze
  • Salt & Pepper

Preheat your oven to 180°C/Fan 160°C.

Sieve the flour & baking powder into a large bowl or food processor. Either rub the butter into the flour by hand or pulse in the processor until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs. Try not to over mix.

Flour and ButterAdd the thyme, mustard powder, cheddar, three quarters of the parmesan and a little salt and pepper. Mix briefly.

Beat the eggs into a jug and add in the buttermilk. Mix lightly then pour into the flour in thirds – mix gently until a dough is formed.

The DoughTip the dough out onto a lightly floured worktop and roll to a thickness of about 2cm. Use a 5cm diameter round cutter to cut out the scones and place them onto a baking sheet.

Cutting the SconesBrush each scone with a little buttermilk and top with a sprinkling of the remaining parmesan and a little black pepper.

Ready for the Oven!Bake in the preheated oven for about 20 minutes until risen and golden.

And that’s it!! It really is as easy as that. I think the only thing I would change is the quantity of mustard powder – I would make it 1 tsp instead of half just to give them a little extra kick.

Cheese & Mustard Scones Ready to Devour!

I hope you are all ready and raring for Christmas Day – I know I am!

I have been busy baking lots of Christmas gifts for the family – I am bursting to share them with you all but I know they read my blog and I don’t want to ruin the surprises!

I wish you all a very Merry Christmas – and I hope you have all been good this year so Santa brings you what you want!

Miss KitchenMason

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

