Chocolate Cupcakes

I feel like I have been on a quest to find a great chocolate cupcake recipe for an age! All the recipes I have tried have either ended up being to dry or too dense. There never seemed to be a happy medium… until now.

I have tried a few recipes from the Hummingbird Bakery iPhone app but it occurred to me that I have never tried the chocolate cupcake recipe! Straight away I decided to give it a go. Here is what you will need to make approx 12-15 cakes:

  • 80g Unsalted Butter (Room Temp!)
  • 280g Golden Caster Sugar
  • 200g Plain Flour
  • 40g Cocoa Powder
  • 1 tbsp Baking Powder
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 240ml Full Fat Milk  (Room Temp!)
  • 2 Large Eggs

For the Frosting:

  • 400g Icing Sugar
  • 100g Cocoa Powder
  • 160g Unsalted Butter (Room Temp!)
  • 50ml Full Fat Milk (Room Temp!)

Preheat the oven to 180°C and line a cupcake tin with foil cases.

Using an electric whisk (or an electric stand mixer) beat together the butter and the sugar until fluffy.

Then sift in the flour, cocoa powder & baking powder and add the salt. Mix until it reaches a sand like texture.

Pour the milk into a jug then beat in the egg. Pour 3 quarters of the milk mixture into the dry ingredients and mix until combined.

Then add in the rest of the milk and stir until you get a smooth, fairly runny sponge batter.

Spoon the mixture into the foil cases until they’re two thirds full. If you have any spare batter just fill more cases.

Put into the middle of the preheated oven for 15-20 minutes. Check cakes with a skewer. If it comes out clean – they’re ready. If it has cake batter on it, it needs another minute or two.

Leave in the tin for about 5-10 minutes until cooled slightly then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

You should get a good rise out of these cakes due to the amount of baking powder in them. I find it easier to frost them when they have flat tops. If you do too, wait until they are completely cooled before slicing the tops of to make them flat.

To Make The Frosting

Sift the icing sugar and the cocoa powder into a bowl. In a separate large bowl, beat the butter to soften a little. Gradually work in the icing sugar/cocoa powder mix until you end up with a dry frosting mix. It doesn’t much resemble frosting yet but just you wait!

Add in the full fat milk and mix until the mixture becomes smooth and shiny. If you want the frosting to be softer, just add a little more milk.

At this point I was a little worried. As you do, I dipped my finger in to have a taste. Sweet bejesus was it rich! Actually quite bitter too! But remember those tops I cut off the cakes earlier? Yeah? Well they all went into my “bakers rights” bowl. (A bowl I always fill with cake tops and leftover frosting!) So I grabbed a top, plopped on a bit of icing and wowsers. Because the sponge was so sweet, the rich chocolatey frosting worked perfectly with it!

When the cakes are completely cooled, pipe on the frosting and top with a pretty sugar decoration.

I was so surprised with these cupcakes. The sponge was amazingly light yet very moist. And the frosting, although it was extremely rich, complimented the sweet sponge fantastically!

I do believe this may become my staple chocolate cupcake recipe from now on.

In the words of Jeremy Clarkson – And on that bombshell… Goodnight!

Miss KitchenMason

10 comments on “Chocolate Cupcakes

  1. lucylox says:

    Those cupcakes look wonderful!

  2. Emma says:

    They look great! I love that chocolate cupcake recipe too… it’s the one I always use!

    • I know, it’s great isn’t it!? I love how light the sponge is for a chocolate cake recipe. Such a change from the usual heavy dense texture!

      • Emma says:

        it’s the best one I’ve found by far – and it’s really simple to make and always works perfectly! I love their Cake Days book – all the recipes I’ve made so far have been really good!

      • Agreed. I don’t have the book but I have the iPhone app and it’s great! All the recipes I have tried have also been a success : D

  3. Kat says:

    Hey, recently started baking cupcakes and I’m addicted 😉 can I ask why golden caster sugar? Does it add a diff flavour and is white ok to substitute? If I can avoid tesco I will lol

    • Hi Kat. White caster sugar is fine as a substitute. I use golden caster sugar because I find it gives a better overall flavour to the cakes. It may sound silly, but the better the ingredients you use, naturally, the better the flavour! You might find my top tips on the cupcake corner page helpful too 🙂

  4. Chef nosa says:

    This is lovely

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

