Home Made Butter!

Oh, and did I mention it requires only 1 ingredient and takes about 10 minutes to make?

I have been searching for more “magic in the kitchen” ever since I discovered how to make honeycomb and this is most definitely magic! (well, to me it is anyway!)

I literally had no idea this recipe even existed until I came across the blog We Are Not Foodies! Plus, I had some leftover double cream in the fridge which was probably going to end up in the bin if I hadn’t have found it.

Here is what you will need to make about 70g of butter:

  • 150ml Double Cream

Yep, that’s it. Oh, and a little salt to taste but that’s down to personal preference.

First step – get a jar (or another seal-able container) that is big enough for the cream to fill about halfway up.

Seal the lid and shake vigorously for about 10 minutes until butter solids appear and end up forming 1 big lump. This is good cardio too, so you can work off some of the calories you are about to consume!

Sieve the milk from the butter and gently squeeze out the rest. Add salt to taste. I added about 1/4 tsp for this quantity. (I like it quite salty for spreading on toast.) Store in an airtight container in the fridge – it will keep for about 2 weeks. (If it makes it that long!)

And that’s it! It tastes so creamy too, definitely nicer than shop bought. I just can’t get over how easy it is to make!

It was that good – I couldn’t wait until next weekend to share it with you all! So the next time you have some leftover double cream or single cream in your fridge that you are just going to throw away – grab a jar and get shaking!

And remember, when making butter there’s little margarine for error! Hahaha, yeah it was lame I know…

Catch ya later!

Miss KitchenMason

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

