The Perfect Vanilla Cupcake!

Well, in my opinion anyway! The sponge is unbelievably soft & light and the vanilla buttercream frosting is super smooth and delicious.

So when I discovered the perfect vanilla cupcake what did I do first? Share the recipe with you lot of course! Yeah… ok you got me. I ate one first but THEN I shared it with you lot! The sponge recipe is adapted from a Primrose Bakery Apprecipe and the frosting is another adapted favourite of mine from Cox Cookies & Cake.

Here is what you will need to make about 12-15 cupcakes.

  • 110g Unsalted Butter Room Temp!
  • 225g Golden Caster Sugar
  • 2 Eggs Room Temp!
  • 120ml Milk
  • 1tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 150g Self Raising Flour
  • 125g Plain Flour

Vanilla Buttercream Frosting:

  • 200g Unsalted Butter Room Temp!
  • 400g Icing Sugar
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 tbsp Milk

Ingredients Tips!

If you have time, it is always best to have all ingredients at room temperature. So take the butter & eggs for this recipe out of the fridge a few hours before you will be baking. Also, use a good quality vanilla extract. I use Neilson Masseys. Believe me, it makes a HUGE difference to the overall flavour of your cakes.

First up, preheat your oven to 200°C/Fan 180°C and line a cupcake tin with cases.

Cream the butter and the sugar in a large bowl using an electric hand whisk. Do this for a few minutes until light and fluffy.

Beat the eggs in a bowl/jug and add to the mixture a quarter at a time. Beat really well after each addition.

Sieve the flours into a bowl and leave to one side. Measure the milk in a jug and stir in the vanilla extract.

Add a quarter of the flour into the batter and mix, then add a quarter of the milk. Mix until just incorporated and repeat until all ingredients are used up.

Spoon the batter into the prepared cases, about 2 thirds full. Bake in the preheated oven for about 15-20 minutes until a skewer comes out clean. Turn halfway for an even bake.

Vanilla Buttercream Frosting

For the vanilla buttercream frosting, using an electric hand whisk, cream the butter in a large mixing bowl until smooth. Sieve the icing sugar into a large bowl, then mix 2 tbsp at a time into the butter. Being careful not to engulf yourself in an icing sugar mushroom cloud! (Speaking from experience) I find using a rubber spatula is the best way forward with this.

Then when all the icing sugar has been used, add the vanilla extract & milk and mix with an electric hand whisk until smooth.

Decorating

Be as creative as your imagination will let you be! There are NO RULES to decorating cupcakes. For this particular attempt though, I coloured the frosting with yellow food colouring gel and piped it onto the cakes using a 2D drop flower nozzle  to create a “rose” effect. I then topped with edible glitter and put a butterfly sugar decoration on the side. I was quite proud of how they turned out!

In other news this week, can you all remember when I was pestering you to vote for my pie?? Well, my Apple Pie recipe came in 2nd place in the Bake It Yourself:Perfect Pie Competition. I couldn’t believe it! Thank you all so much for voting! Love you lots like Jelly Tots.

Yesterday morning, my prizes for coming 2nd arrived, I was so excited! Lots of new toys to play with!

I got a Lakeland pastry block, a Lakeland clafoutis dish, a Lakeland blackbird pie funnel, a Jospeh & Joseph rolling pin, a Bake It Yourself jute bag, a Bake It Yourself apron, a Neff recipe book, a Neff pastry brush & 2 Neff spatulas. What a haul!!

I sincerely thank you all so so much for taking the time to vote for my recipe. I wouldn’t have any of this if it wasn’t for you. So thank you!! *BIG HUG*

Until next time my little chipolatas.

Miss KitchenMason

5 comments on “The Perfect Vanilla Cupcake!

  1. These look amazing! I happen to have that same butterfly cutter 🙂

  2. joanne myers says:

    I have just baked these and they are so delish! I piped a swirl instead of a rose and used blue sprinkles to decorate.
    Im a beginner baker and hope to make the cream egg cupcakes once my confidence is built up.
    Love your website, lots of yummy things to try!

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

