Chicken Stock

It’s a rarity that I have a whole chicken in the house and after devouring Heston’s perfect roast chicken on Saturday night I figured, waste not want not, I’m making me some stock!

Here is what you will need to make your very own home made chicken stock ice cubes. Recipe is courtesy of BBC Food.

  • Bones from a cooked chicken
  • 1 Carrot, peeled & chopped
  • 1 Onion, peeled & quartered
  • 1 Stick of Celery, chopped
  • 6 Black Peppercorns
  • 1 Dried Bay Leaf
  • 1 Sprig Thyme
  • 3 Sprigs Parsley

Note:

The shop around the corner from me didn’t have celery or parsley so I made do without but if you can, obviously get them. (Don’t judge me, It was a Sunday & I was being lazy!) I also added the basting juices leftover from cooking the Ultimate Roast Chicken.

First up, throw all the ingredients into a large heavy based pan.

Cover the ingredients with cold water, place on the stove & bring to the boil. Skim off any scum that surfaces.

Cover with a lid, reduce the heat to low and simmer gently for about 3 hours.

Strain the stock through a sieve or some muslin into a large bowl. If you will be using it within three days, allow to cool completely, skim off the fat that surfaces to the top & refrigerate until needed.

If you aren’t, return the stock to a clean pan. Crank up the heat and boil vigorously for about an hour or until reduced by half.

Cool the stock completely then skim off the fat that surfaces. Pour the stock into ice cube trays and freeze. When frozen, put cubes (or sea shell shapes in my case!) into a bag and store in the freezer.

When you want to use one, simply put in a jug and add boiling water to melt the cube. Or just throw into a pan with your ingredients for a more concentrated flavour.

Hope I’ve inspired you to not waste those carcasses!

Go forth and make stock my friends.

Miss KitchenMason

11 comments on “Chicken Stock

  1. […] 125ml Stock (I used my Chicken Stock) […]

  2. […] Chicken Stock Ice Cubes (or about 100ml chicken […]

  3. […] prepare the couscous. Make the chicken stock, I used 2 of my Chicken Stock Ice Cubes and poured over 250ml of hot water. You could just as easily use dried stock cubes or fresh shop […]

  4. Wow, wonderful blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is
    fantastic, as well as the content!

  5. Wally says:

    Hello there! This post couldn’t be written any better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my previous room mate!
    He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this post to him.

    Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thanks
    for sharing!

  6. We absolutely love your blog and find a lot of your post’s to be
    what precisely I’m looking for. can you offer guest writers to write content for yourself?
    I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on a number of the
    subjects you write concerning here. Again, awesome website!

  7. Hey there! This is my first visit to your blog!
    We are a collection of volunteers and starting
    a new project in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us valuable
    information to work on. You have done a wonderful job!

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

