The Ultimate Roast Chicken!

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Now this is a recipe I have wanted to try ever since I laid my eyes on the channel 4 programme, How To Cook Like Heston. To be honest, every recipe I have ever tried of Heston Blumenthal’s has been the best I have ever tasted. I think it’s the fact that he pulls in the science behind food that fascinates me so much. I get a kick out of understanding why things are the way they are.

Now, roasting joints of meat is not something I am really familiar with as the humble ‘Sunday Roast’  it’s not the Mr’s favourite dinner. (I know, weirdo right?!) I have done it a few times before but it was long ago, back in the days when I didn’t really care that much about cooking. Honestly, it’s true. It’s only been the last few years when something switched on in me & made me totally obsessed with food!

Anyway, enough of my babbling! This is what you will need to make the most juicy, tender, succulent and flavourful chicken you will ever taste in your whole life!! (Here is where you can find the original recipe.)

IMPORTANT NOTICE! You will need 2 days to make this. There are NO shortcuts in making the perfect roast chicken.

  • 1 Whole Chicken, (1.5 – 2kg)
  • Brine (300g Salt dissolved in 5 litres water)
  • 1 Lemon
  • Thyme, bunch
  • Butter, Room Temp (for rubbing into skin)

Basting Juice

  • 125g Butter
  • 30ml White or Rose Wine
  • Thyme, sprig

Special Equipment

Day 1

Remove the trussing from the chicken. (The string that holds it together purely for presentation purposes.)

Make the brine by dissolving 60g of salt in each 1 litre of cold water. For the size bowl I used, I dissolved 360g in 6 litres of water. Be sure to make enough so it completely covers the chicken.

Place the chicken into the large washing up bowl filled with the brine, cover with cling film and leave in the fridge overnight.

Day 2

Preheat your oven to 90°C/Fan 70°C. (I know it’s low but it works, trust me!)

Remove the chicken from the bowl, pat dry with kitchen roll and remove the wish bone. (This makes it easier to carve later.)

Place on a grill rack in a roasting tin. (Thanks to Mum & Dad for letting me borrow theirs!) Roll the lemon on a work surface & pierce all over with a knife. Place the lemon and a big bunch of thyme inside the chicken. Rub the skin with butter and place into the preheated oven.

Check the thickest part of the breast with the meat thermometer after about 1hr 30 mins. You want to get the internal temperature to 60°C. (I had a 2kg chicken and it took about 3hrs 20 minutes to reach 60°C, just so you have a rough idea.)

Apparently safety guidelines say you need to take it to 75°C but if Heston says 60°C makes the perfect chicken then I’m going with Heston! Plus, I ate this last night and I’m still here today so, for the sake of amazing chicken, safety guidelines can kiss my derrière!

Once at the right temperature, remove from the oven and allow to rest for 45 minutes. Meanwhile, up the oven’s temperature to the highest it will go & make the baste.

Melt the butter in a small pan and add the wine & thyme sprig. Bring to the boil then remove from the heat.

When the chicken has rested, pour over the baste and return to the oven for 10 minutes, basting halfway.

When beautifully crispy & golden on top, carve up the chicken that will be glistening with juices and devour however you wish!

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

I literally cannot describe how incredible this chicken is. The photos don’t do it justice at all! Anyone who roasts their chicken until it looks & tastes like chalk is committing a crime against taste buds. It’s so easy to do and I promise, if you try this recipe, you will never go back to roasting a chicken any other way!

Also, the best thing about there being only two of us in my household is that I now have loads of the worlds best chicken to have in my sandwiches for work next week! Aaaand, I also have a chicken carcass that is begging to be used to make a beautiful home made stock. If it turns out well I will share the recipe with you all later.

Anyways, I hope you are all enjoying a nice lazy Sunday. I’m off to have a leftover chicken sandwich!

In a while crocodiles.

Miss KitchenMason

4 comments on “The Ultimate Roast Chicken!

  1. Dad says:

    I spot a slight ‘spooling moustache’ hehehehe.

    Now, how do you ‘calve’ a chicken or is this one of Heston’s secrets used in the making the best chicken in the world?

    That said, I do hope that you have saved some . . . . I’ll drop round and mend the other brake cable for you if you have . . . .

  2. Funnily enough there is loads left in the fridge. Even after both me and Dan had seconds today and I’ve put loads on my sandwich for work tomorrow!
    And Lol about the mistake, That’s not bad though, 78 posts and this is the first time anyone has pulled me up on spelling.

  3. […] The shop around the corner from me didn’t have celery or parsley so I made do without but if you can, obviously get them. (Don’t judge me, It was a Sunday & I was being lazy!) I also added the basting juices leftover from cooking the Ultimate Roast Chicken. […]

  4. […] Kitchen Mason – A very fun and well illustrated account of cooking the updated and improved Heston… […]

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

