Mum’s 50th Birthday & Carrot Cake!

This weekend it was my Mum’s 50th Birthday so I took it upon myself to make the cake. I knew she loved carrot cake and even though I have never made one before, I decided to give it a go. Me and my Dad also put on a hot carvery for about 40 people but more on that later!

The cake recipe was adapted from BBC Good Food and here is what you need to make it.

Cake:

  • 300g Plain Flour
  • 2 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Bicarbonated Soda
  • 200g Soft Brown Sugar
  • 4 Eggs
  • 250ml Oil (I used Olive)
  • 1 Orange, zest of
  • 1 Lemon, zest of
  • 200g Carrots, peeled & grated
  • 227g tin Pineapple rings, chopped (Optional)
Cream Cheese Frosting:
  • 250g Butter (Room temperature!)
  • 100g Icing Sugar
  • 500g Cream Cheese
Butter Cream Decoration:
  • 65g Butter (Room Temperature!)
  • 150g Icing Sugar
  • 1 tsp Milk
  • Orange Food Colouring
  • Green Food Colouring
Equipment:
  • 2 x 7″ Loose Bottomed, Deep Cake Tins
  • Piping Bags, Nozzles of your choosing

Preheat your oven to 150°C (Fan)

Lightly grease the base & sides of the 2x cake tins with oil & line the bottoms with baking paper.

In a bowl, sift together the flour, cinnamon, baking powder & bicarbonated soda then add the brown sugar & mix well.

Zest both the orange & the lemon into another large bowl and add the eggs. Gradually beat in the oil then mix in the carrots & the pineapple if using.

In quarters, add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix well until fully incorporated.

Pour the mixture equally into the two cake tins and put in the middle of the oven for 40 minutes. After 30 minutes, check with a skewer. If it comes out clean it is ready, if there is cake mix on the skewer put back in for another 5-10 minutes and check again. It’s better to be safe than sorry as all ovens vary!

Allow to cool in the cake tins for about 15 minutes then turn out on a wire rack to completely cool.

Meanwhile, make your frosting. Beat the butter and icing sugar together in a large bowl. And be gentle at first or you will end up with icing sugar EVERYWHERE! (I speak from experience, trust me!) Then add the cream cheese and mix well until lump free and smooth. I actually got the electric beaters out to finish off the mixing to ensure a smoother consistency. Chill until needed.

When the cake is completely cool & the frosting is chilled, you are ready to frost. Place the bottom half on a cake board & slide pieces of greaseproof paper under so you don’t get the board all messy. Level the top of the cake with a knife and begin slapping on the frosting. I used a pallet knife to smooth mine.

Sandwich the other half of the cake on top & cover the top and sides with the rest of the frosting. Be as neat or as messy as you like, it really doesn’t matter what look you go for, it will still taste good!

Remove the pieces of greaseproof paper and store in the fridge until ready for decorations.

To make the butter cream decoration, beat the butter with the icing sugar & the milk. Split the mixture between two bowls. Add orange food colouring to one and green food colouring to the other. The amount depends on how strong you want the colours.

Fill a piping bag with the orange coloured butter cream and start creating little carrots. Then fill a clean bag with the green and add the “tops”. If like me, you end up with leftover butter creams you can do a decoration around the bottom or anywhere that takes your fancy! (Or just eat it : D )

I was so pleased with how this cake turned out. It was the first time I have ever decorated a cake & I am still so proud of myself! Even more than that though, it really did taste gorgeous. Such a lovely recipe! Lots of people at the party said to me that they don’t even like carrot cake but they loved this. I was chuffed to bits! The best bit for me was that the Birthday girl loved it and that’s what really mattered.

Asides from the cake, me and my Dad were charged with putting on a hot carvery for all our friends and family. 55 stuffing balls, 220 roast potatoes, 2 bags of carrots, 4 heads of brocolli, 40 pigs in blankets, 50 yorkshire puddings, 1 gallon of gravy, 1 huge joint of beef, 1 huge joint of pork, 2 turkeys and 2 VERY exhausted people later… This is what it turned out like.

Oh yes, we got special T-shirts printed too haha. Thought they were pretty smart! Also, if you can see the little guy in the corner, he stayed there so he could get his hands on more of my roast potatoes! Little monkey : D

Both my brothers had T-shirts too as they ran a home made cocktail bar for the evening which was also fab!

Anyway, I thought I would share some click camera moments with you so you could have a glimpse into what really was a brilliant day.

Me and Dad hard at work!

The birthday girl & the hot pink limo!

The lighting of the Carrot Cake

I’d also like to give a little shout out to Emma from where me & my Mum both work. She made a batch of these beautiful little cupcakes for my Mum which were unbelievably scrummy!

Well that just about sums up my weekend. I hope you enjoyed it!

Adios Amigos.

Miss KitchenMason

13 comments on “Mum’s 50th Birthday & Carrot Cake!

  1. Tara White says:

    Without sounding cliche I didn’t think I liked carrott cake, assuming it would taste of carrotts, but after trying abit of my sisters piece I realised it doesn’t!…top cake! 🙂 xx

  2. dad says:

    Thanks CHEF 🙂
    The cake was, as I expected, really good, and I’m not a huge fan of carrot cake.
    The ‘carvery’ experience was great fun and it seemed to go down well with everybody.
    Thanks for all your hard work.

    • You’re welcome Chef! Glad you liked the cake & so far I have not heard a bad word about the carvery. So I definitely think it went down well!

      It was well worth all the hard work considering how much the birthday girl enjoyed herself. Great day had by all 😀

  3. Caggie P says:

    Ab fab!!!! everything was great. Credit to u all and Lee will back me up lol 🙂 x

  4. Mum says:

    Well Miss KitchenMason,

    THE CAKE: This truly was the best Carrot Cake I have ever tasted!!!! 🙂
    The decoration…..loved it, especially the crinkled carrots 🙂

    DOWNSIDE: I am so used to having carrot cake all to myself, I really believed there would
    be plenty left over for just me, myself & I.

    AMAZED: All Gone!!!………Congratulations on converting Carrot Cake to so many of
    of the family Including You & Dad 🙂

    THE PARTY: What can I say…….The Carvery & Cocktail Bar was a very brave task but
    you nailed it in style, despite the weather !!!!
    Thank You so much for a TOP CLASS PARTY ❤

    THE LIMO: The best surprise I have ever had………I felt like a 16yr old & I would do
    it all over again, if i could xxxx

    SUMMARY: Not one tear in sight………..I was far too excited having a great time &
    being "The Special Birthday Girl" in the company of all my family, friends
    & neighbours!!!!!!

    REQUEST: Please Please make me some more!!!!

    • Haha so you had a good time then?

      So pleased you enjoyed the cake and sorry there wasn’t any more left for you!

      Just let me know when you fancy some more and I will have a go at converting this recipe into cute little carrot cake cupcakes for you 😀

      • Mum says:

        Now would be a good time………….Bank Holiday Weekend is always a good time to indulge!!!
        Could you keep the next batch quiet from Dad, I really don’t want to share!!!!
        Luv from the Birthday Girls xxxx

      • I will see what I can do! When will you be leaving/coming back from Snowdon? You may have to come and pick them up 😀

  5. Mum says:

    You have plenty of time. Snowdon is in July 😉

  6. Mum says:

    Nice One Chef 😉

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

