Chocolate Mousse Tart!

I opted for a book called Chocolate Box for this weeks culinary adventure. It’s a book I picked up from Marks & Spencers in the January sales a few years back. I have made a couple of recipes from it before, the most memorable being a brownie based cheesecake which I remember being particularly indulgent! This time I wanted to try something I haven’t made before though. A chocolate mousse tart. It’s worth saying at this point that on the second of three attempts at this recipe… I realised that it must be wrong. Little frustrating to say the least but I think I managed to suss it out into something that’s edible!

Here is what you will need:

  • 85g Digestive Biscuits
  • 85g Amaretti Biscuits
  • 70g Butter
  • 200g Plain/Dark Chocolate
  • 115g Milk Chocolate
  • 3 Large Eggs
  • 55g Caster Sugar
  • 2 x Cadburys Flake to decorate

I actually ended up forgetting about the Flakes due to all the unforeseen mishaps with the recipe. So just ate them instead. Which I didn’t mind : D

Now for the therapeutic bit. Get your digestive and amaretti biscuits and bash the crap out of them in a bag with a rolling pin. (Go a little easy though, you don’t want to be getting the hoover out!) Then melt the butter in a pan and add the biscuits. I personally would have added another 10g or so more to the butter as the end result was a little too crumbly for my liking. Press this into a 20 – 23cm spring form pan. I lined mine with greasproof paper but the recipe didn’t say to do this. Use your own judgement on that one. Leave in the fridge until needed.

Next, you need to melt the plain/dark & milk chocolate together in a glass bowl over simmering water and leave to cool.

Separate the eggs and whisk the egg whites with electric beaters. When you get to the soft peaks stage, add in the caster sugar & carry on whisking until you get firm peaks. Now is the time when you are “apparently” supposed to put the bowl over your head and if it stays in the bowl it’s ready. Personally, I ain’t risking it. I just do it over the kitchen side… an easily washable surface!

Here is where it all went a bit Pete Tong. The recipe says that, once the melted chocolate is cool, add the 3 egg yolks to it. I tried it the first time… ok, this one was mainly my fault. I added the yolks whilst the chocolate was still a little too warm and the mixture split, looking something like this…

Considering the recipe then says to “pour” this into the egg whites I guessed that something wasn’t quite right! So I rummaged around in my cupboards and managed to scrape together enough chocolate and eggs to try again. So I melted more chocolate… this time leaving it for about half an hour just to be sure. It was practically cold to the touch. So I added 1 egg yolk in caution… and it instantly turned into a thick solid lump. At this point I got a little angry so forgot to take a photo to show you guys! It was basically the same as the above picture though,  just not split. If anyone knows the reason that this happens I would really like to know. I tried googling it but to no avail.

It was at this point I realised that the recipe was definitely wrong. So I thought I would try again, only this time fold the cooled, melted chocolate into the egg whites first and then add the yolks one by one. I was determined not to let this recipe defeat me!

Once everything was well incorporated, I poured the mixture over the prepared base and left in the fridge to set for 8 hours.

To my surprise… somehow, it bloody well worked! 3rd time lucky as they say : D

Although it doesn’t look that pretty or neat, it’s actually not that bad! The topping is smooth and silky in texture but still light and moussy. I did have a mental blip and forgot that I don’t like marzipan and therefore amaretti biscuits wasn’t the smartest of matches to my taste buds… but that aside, it was rather pleasant : D

And if anyone does know why chocolate instantly turns into a solid lump when egg yolks are added I would really appreciate if you could tell me.

It’s going to bug me until I know!

Until next week happy campers.

Miss Kitchen Mason

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

