Gratin Dauphinois & Breaded Chicken!

This week I made a new years resolution. (A little late I know but better late than never!)  I want to stop getting all my recipes online when I have a ton of perfectly brilliant recipe books right at home, half of which I have never even read! So therefore, I got today’s recipes from a book my other half made me buy a few months back. And now, I’m glad he did make me buy it! It’s a book called New Concise Larousse Gastronomique. In effect, it’s a cooking dictionary with loads of recipe’s thrown right into the mix. An extremely handy book to have!

I have always wanted to make a dauphinois as I love potatoes & I love creamy, cheesy things too! So I looked in my dictionary & found a very simple recipe for Gratin Dauphinoise. Here is what you will need.

Serves 3-4 as a side dish. (or 2 greedy people like me and the Mr!)

  • 500g Potatoes
  • 1 Egg
  • Milk, splash
  • 300ml Cream
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 200g Gruyère Cheese, grated
  • Nutmeg
  • Butter

Preheat your oven to 220°C.

First, peel & thinly slice your potatoes, grate the gruyère cheese and generously butter a round dish.

Next, sprinkle half the cheese along the bottom of the dish and lay the potatoes evenly on top.

In a jug, beat the egg with a little milk and add the cream. Season with 1/2 tsp of salt and nutmeg to taste, then pour over the potatoes. Add the rest of the grated cheese to the top & dot with knobs of butter.

Put in the oven for 50 minutes. towards the end of the cooking time you will probably need to protect the top by covering with foil.

When removed from the oven, allow to cool for a few minutes before slicing and serving.

Nom nom!!  As much as I would love to just eat a bowl of this stuff I figured I had probably better have something to go with it. From the same book I found a recipe for a marinated, breaded chicken. Here is what you will need.

  • 2 x Chicken Breast
  • 2 tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1tbsp Lemon Juice
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Cayenne, sprinkle
  • 1 x Garlic Clove, finely chopped
  • 1tbsp Parsley, finely chopped
  • 1/2 tsp Ground Ginger (If Liked)
  • Breadcrumbs

Mix the oil, lemon juice, salt, pepper, cayenne, garlic, parsley & ground ginger together and pour over the chicken in a bag. Leave in the fridge to marinate for at least 30 minutes. If you have longer, even better. I left mine for a few hours.

When ready to cook, remove the chicken, allow any excess juices to run off  and roll in breadcrumbs ready for frying.

The recipe calls for you to deep fry in 180°C oil for 13-15 minutes but I don’t have a deep fryer. Instead, I heated a good amount of oil in a heavy based pan and shallow fried them, turning over half way. About 5-7 minutes each side. If you are worried it won’t be cooked through, just pop in the oven for a few minutes rather than keep frying as you will burn the breadcrumbs.

Then stuff your face! The chicken was really tender & juicy and the flavours were nice and subtle. I was half expecting the potatoes to be a little bland but the nutmeg really came through. All in all, 2 very tasty & satisfying recipes. Therefore, I’m declaring my first “only use my recipe books at home” week a success! Looking forward to flicking through some more of them to find more delicious recipes for next week!

And on that note, Adiós amigos!

Miss Kitchen Mason

4 comments on “Gratin Dauphinois & Breaded Chicken!

  1. Rhoda Mason (Mum) says:

    Sounds lovely but where is the Veg or Side Salad ?

  2. Yum…i needed some inspiration so thankyou, i watched the two greedy italians this week and they used cheese and cabbage, i may try a fusion of both yours and theirs 🙂 x

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

