Chocolate Gifts!

I always try and make some home made gifts for my family at Christmas. This year I wanted to keep it simple and stick with chocolates. I mean, who doesn’t like chocolate right?!

So I got inspiration from two places for these two different chocolates. The idea for “Chocolate Thins” topped with whatever you fancy came from an amazing book called Gifts From The Kitchen. The Oreo Truffle Chocolates idea was another from Foodgawker.

Chocolate Thins

This one is really simple. Basically all you need to do is get a baking tray & some grease proof paper. Turn the baking tray upside down (so the top is a totally flat surface) & stick the grease proof paper to it with a bit of sellotape. Then melt a chocolate of your choice and, using a teaspoon, drop some melted chocolate in blobs along the tray. Don’t position them too close together.

When the tray is filled, bang the tray on a worktop and the “blobs” turn into circular discs by spreading out. Then you have a short window to decorate with whatever you want. I used chopped up Toblerone, chopped almonds & chopped pistachios to top mine. Also, you can play around with the chocolate too, I mixed blobs of white & milk chocolate to create a “half & half” look. When you are done decorating, simply leave in the fridge to set & then remove using a pallet knife.

Oreo Truffle Chocolates

These babies create a few more pots but are so worth it! To make enough filling for approx 24 chocolates, you need to blitz half a pack of oreo biscuits in a blender. Then mix them with half a 250g tub of Philadelphia cheese. Spread the mixture in an even layer on some greaseproof paper. (Height of layer dependent on how big your chocolate moulds are, mine could take approx 3/4cm.) Then pop that into the freezer to harden, this will make it easier to handle later.

Meanwhile, melt some chocolate of your choosing. I used two, a white chocolate and some Galaxy chocolate. Remove the oreo mixture from the freezer and, using a knife, slice into smaller versions of the shape of your moulds. In my case, it was squares. Don’t use a sharp knife though as it will cut through the greaseproof paper and you will end up in a right ruddy mess like I did! Then, using a teaspoon, put a small layer of melted chocolate into the bottom of each mould & top with an oreo mixture piece. Then fill the rest of the mould with more melted chocolate so the mixture is surrounded.

Alternatively, if you don’t have a chocolate mould, you could make them as the original recipe states. Rolled into balls & then covered in melted chocolate.

Leave in the fridge to set, or if you are short on time… pop them in the freezer to speed up the process.

From the general reaction, they were very well received, which obviously I was very pleased about! There’s something so satisfying about giving home made gifts. I guess it echoes the warm fuzziness generated by the festive season. *Silly soppy sod*

Did any of you make or receive home made gifts? I would love to hear about it, leave a comment below!

Speaking of presents… my totally amazing  other half bought me my very own web domain. I am now the proud owner of  www.kitchenmason.com Yay!! I love Christmas.

And on that note, until 2012… Hope you all have a great new year!

Miss Kitchen Mason

5 comments on “Chocolate Gifts!

  1. […] And there you have it, possibly the greatest cupcake EVER! There’s something about the combination of Oreos and cream cheese, it’s just incredible! If you feel the same way you will definitely love my recipe for Oreo truffles AND they make fantastic gifts! Check out the recipe Here. […]

  2. Hi would youu mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with?
    I’mlooking to start my own blog soon but I’m having a difficult time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different
    then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.

    P.S My apoloigies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

  3. Marlys says:

    Am Ende weichen Rindervelours in der passenden Stärke
    und Ebay – Händler gefunden und zugeschlagen.

  4. Nam says:

    Thank you a lot for sharing this with all of us you actually recognize
    what you are talking approximately! Bookmarked. Kindly also seek
    advice from my site =). We may have a link change agreement among us

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

