Beef Wellington!

In my family, we don’t tend to stick with tradition when it comes to Christmas dinner. This is mainly because there are a few of us that don’t really like turkey but also because we don’t like having the same thing over and over again. This year was my first year hosting the family Christmas dinner so I decided to get a beautiful piece of fillet beef & make a beef wellington. Not something I have ever attempted before (always a smart idea!) but it was hands down… the best piece of meat I have ever had! This was truly delicious and all made possible by my local butcher, Gordon Ramsay and  a bit of time & effort. Oh, and a rare willingness on my part to exercise “you get what you pay for”! I really recommend getting a good beef fillet  to truly appreciate the recipe.

It’s another recipe I found on the BBC Good Food website. This time however, I won’t list out ingredients or a method as I literally wouldn’t change a thing about the original recipe. I was quite surprised how simple it was but it is a little time consuming. Probably not one I would do for a Sunday dinner but more of a dinner party feast.

I was pleasantly surprised at the results. Naturally I was worried about over/under cooking the meat as it was not cheap! But the timings and hints given in the recipe are spot on! I was also a little unsure about the mushroom duxelle as I am not really partial to mushrooms but it worked really well with the rest of the flavours. Definitely a worthwhile treat!

So what did you guys do for your Christmas dinner? I’d love to know, leave a comment below!

Hope you all have a terrific Christmas and wish you all well for the upcoming new year!

Miss Kitchen Mason

2 comments on “Beef Wellington!

  1. Mum says:

    I couldn’t have been more proud of you. the food was fantastic & you have learnt that paying a little bit extra from your local butcher enhanced your 1st christmas dinner.
    Looking forward to many more.
    Mum xxx

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

