Chocolate Chip Shortbread!

So sorry I’ve been absent lately… I don’t know if you’re aware but it’s Christmas soon! Kinda busy as I’m sure all of you are too! With this in mind, I have a few posts that I know I will be making over the holidays but can’t do it now as either they are presents and I don’t want to ruin the surprise or it’s a dinner I have not yet cooked!

And so my lovely peeps, I thought I would tide you over with another of my faves. Chocolate chip shortbread adapted from a book I have, Butter Sugar Flour. I love this book, weirdly because there are no pictures. No pictures equals no expectations!

A while ago, some of my colleagues at work developed a minor addiction to these bad boys, as did I! So, here is what you will need.

  • 250g Unsalted Butter, softened
  • 160g Caster Sugar
  • 300g Plain Flour
  • 1 bag Chocolate Chips
  • 2 tsp sugar to sprinkle

Preheat your oven to 160°C.

Brush 2 x 25cm pizza trays with either oil or butter and line with baking paper. Try not to use greaseproof paper as there is quite a large quantity of butter in these biscuits and you don’t want them to be swimming in it!

Next, cream the butter and the sugar in a bowl with some electric beaters until light and fluffy. Sieve the flour and then add it into the butter mixture along with the chocolate chips. Mix to a soft dough using a flat – bladed knife.

Then lift the dough onto a lightly floured work surface and kneed until it all comes together into a smooth dough.

Split the dough into two and then stretch evenly over the two baking trays. This will take a little patience but the mix will fill the trays, trust me!

Make little “finger” dents around the edges and then prick the middle with a fork. Sprinkle with a little sugar and we are good to go!

Pop them in the oven (rotating half way through to get a more even bake) for about 20 minutes. They should be lightly golden on the top so just check them in the last 5 minutes as some ovens cook quicker than others.

As soon as they are out of the oven, carefully cut each tray into 16 segments whilst the dough is still warm. Allow to cool in the tray.

When completely cooled, remove from the tray and munch away!

Hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do and have a wonderful Christmas guys n’ gals!

Miss Kitchen Mason

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

