Lemon Cream!

Yet again, I had another dinner party this weekend. But this time was a little different. We had fillet steak with blue cheese & onion sauce as posted a few weeks back.  This time with home made chips though.

But instead of doing a starter, we had 2 puddings!! My lovely friend made some mint chocolate chip cupcakes that were to die for and I made this lemon cream from Circle B Kitchen.

Yum… ee!! I wish I knew the recipe for these bad boys, I think I might live off them lol.

Anyway! Back to business. Lemon Cream pudding. This is what you will need:

  • 3 x Unwaxed Lemons
  • 275g Caster Sugar
  • 6 Eggs
  • 250g Mascarpone Cheese

I actually only made half this recipe. The full recipe yields 8 ramekins but I was only cooking for 4 people.

First, zest the lemons & squeeze the juice out of them then put it all in a large bowl. If like me, you’re making half the recipe, only use 1 to 1.5 lemons. I risked it with 2 and it turned it far too lemony. I know that sounds silly considering it’s a lemon pudding but trust me, it’s possible!

Next, crack the eggs into the bowl along with the sugar and mix well.

Carefully mix in the mascarpone. I say carefully. It doesn’t really matter but I was a little too vigorous and ended up with pudding all over my kitchen sides. Doh! So yeah, be a little careful.

Then cover with cling film & leave in your fridge. Apparently this is best being left for about 2 days. I did it one day in advance and it seemed fine though.

Once you are ready to bake them, preheat your oven to 150°C and share the mixture between the ramekins. Place them into a roasting tray and fill it with not boiling, but hot water up to about half way up the ramekins & bake for about 25 minutes.

Top Tips!

– Don’t pour in boiling water as you will end up with a scrambled egg pudding… not very appetising.

– Put the roasting tray in the oven before filling with water as it will be much easier and less risky!

When they are done, they should wobble slightly, note that they will firm up more as they cool.

When you are done, keep in the fridge up until about half an hour before you are going to eat them. Then enjoy!

Don’t forget, if you enjoy my posts, please support the blog by subscribing & sharing with your friends & family.

Until next time folks!

Miss Kitchen Mason

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

