Veal Sausage Casserole!

Good evening Kitchen Masonites! Today I want to share one of my new favourite recipes. This delightful sausage casserole.

I adapted a recipe from a blog I have shared with you before. KayoticKitchen. I bought some Veal sausages when I was at the BBC Good Food Show and have been wondering what to do with them ever since. I had a nosy on my favourite blogs & sites and came across this belter! The best thing is how little time & effort you have to put in to get out such tasty & flavourful food. So… without further ado! Here is what you will need.

Serves 2 (Easily doubled)

  • 8 Veal Sausages
  • 1 Onion
  • 1/2 Orange Pepper
  • 1/2 Red Pepper
  • 5 Small Potatoes
  • 2 Garlic Cloves, chopped finely
  • Oregano, 1.5 tsp
  • Olive Oil 2 tbsp
  • Balsamic Vinegar 4tbsp
  • Chicken Stock, approx 100ml

Preheat your oven to 200°C.

First you need to brown the sausages. You don’t have to use veal, you can use whatever sausages you like. Heat some oil in a heavy pan and cook until they are just starting to brown. Don’t worry that they are not cooked all the way through as they will get plenty of time in the oven later on. Remove from the pan & keep to one side until needed.

Prepare your veg next. Slice the peppers, peel the potatoes and cut them in half & then chop the onion into wedges. Put all of this in a big roasting tray and top with the sausages. My other half grew some King Edward potatoes this year and we pulled them all out a couple of weeks ago. I used them for this recipe… it’s always more satisfying when you’ve grown it yourself!

In a jug, combine the chicken stock, balsamic vinegar, oil, oregano & garlic. Pour the mixture over the sausages & veg, season with salt & pepper then cover with foil.

Put in the oven for 40 minutes. Then sit back and wait for the amazing aromas to fill your home!

Take out of the oven and remove the foil. Give it a good mix to make sure everything is coated in the juices and pop back in the oven uncovered for about 15 minutes turning the sausages half way.

And there you have it… a hassle free, minimal pot washing, extremely flavourful dinner! The next time I make it it will probably add some carrots into the mix just to bulk it out a bit but apart from that I honestly wouldn’t change a thing. It’s so tasty & simple and you’re mad if you don’t give it a go! I promise you won’t be dissapointed.

If you do try it out, let me know how it goes!

Until next time.

Miss Kitchen Mason

5 comments on “Veal Sausage Casserole!

  1. DAD says:

    NOM NOM ……..

  2. Rhoda Mason (Mum) says:

    Looks Yummy…………but where is the gravy??

  3. Anonymous says:

    Hello Miss Mason,

    My name is Aidan and I recently started a food blog the Bachelor’s Spatulas. i really like your lax style of the blogs, and your inspired dishes and site, something I also try to accomplish. I’m new to this whole thing and I was hoping to add a link to your site. I recently bought a bunch of Polish sausage from an awesome little deli and was going to make a Polish Sausage and Saurkraut dish where I’m gonna make a quick kraut (so it ain’t so funky), but I also got some veal sausage, so I thought I might do something along the lines of this dish, so I thought I should reference your site. Posse up?

    -Aidan

    P.S. – I tried to send a comment with the Facebook log in below, but when I submitted it it said error, that I needed to enter the info below, as I already had, and it essentially erased my comment and started me over on a blank comment page.!? Maybe try a different plug-in for Facebook link.

    • Hi Aidan

      So glad you like my blog! I’m fairly new to it myself to be honest, only been doing it for about 6 months now. I’m more than happy for you to link my site and use any recipes you like. After all, that’s the whole reason I started doing blogs in the first place… to share all things tasty!
      What’s your website address? I would love to have a look. Let me know how your veal sausage casserole goes too!

      P.S. I’m not really great with the whole “plug ins” thing so not entirely sure how to fix that! But I will certainly have a go at trying!

      By the way… loving “Bachelor’s Spatulas” haha

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

