Vanilla Crème Brulée with Almond Sacristains

So for pudding I thought I would have another crack at the classic Crème Brulée. I have tried this recipe before but failed miserably. But I am not one to give in easily to defeat! This recipe is another from the Michel Roux Jnr app on the iPhone & here is what you will need:

  • 250ml Double Cream
  • 75ml Full Fat Milk
  • 1 Vanilla Pod, scraped
  • 4 Egg Yolks
  • 50g Caster Sugar + 3-4 tbsp for the topping
  • Almonds, chopped finely
  • Puff Pastry

First you need to preheat your oven to 140°C.

Next, put the cream, milk & vanilla pod (along with the scraped seeds) into a pan and gently bring to the boil. Then cover and leave to one side to infuse for about 10 minutes.

In a large bowl, whisk the egg yolks & the sugar until pale & thick. Pour in the the hot cream mixture & stir well.

Pour into 4 ramekins. Now you are ready to bake them. This is where I tripped myself up before. The recipe says to bake them in a water bath. I didn’t fully understand what this was and therefore my previous attempts failed to set. So what you need to do is put the filled ramekins into a roasting tray and sit it on the middle shelf of the oven. Next, boil the kettle and pour the boiling water into the roasting tray until about three quarters the way up the ramekins. Then you need to cover the tray with foil and bake for about 20 minutes. When out of the oven, to ensure they would set, I actually left the ramekins in the tray with hot water for about 5-10 minutes. When I finally took them out, the mixture had a slight wobble to it. At this point I breathed a sigh of relief. I had done it, I had finally bloody done it, my Crème Brulée had set!!

Leave them aside to cool before transferring to the fridge until needed.

When you are ready to eat, sprinkle a thin, even layer of caster sugar on the tops of the Brulées and caramelise either with a blow torch if you have one, or under a really hot grill.

Next, turn your attention to the Sacristains.

Your oven needs to be at 190°C.

Roll out some puff pastry to about 3mm thick. Brush it with beaten egg and sprinkle with some finely chopped almonds. Cut into strips that are approx 10cm long and 1.2cm wide. Twist them 5 times (with the almonds on the inside) and place on a baking tray.

Bake in the oven until they are golden, this took about 10 minutes for me.

Remove from the oven & dust with a little icing sugar. Serve them still warm with the Brulée.

And there you have it, Vanilla Crème Brulée with Almond Sacristains. I’m over the moon that I managed to make it successfully this time round. It was well worth the effort. It was smooth, creamy & delicate in flavour. Total yumness!!

Hope you all enjoyed my culinary adventures for this weekend, see you all next week!

Miss Kitchen Mason

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

