Bloomin’ Cheesy Bread!

So this week I didn’t get a lot of time for food as it was my future Mother in Law’s 50th birthday party. With it being so close to Halloween, it was fancy dress so most of last week was spent making my costume instead of cakes or biscuits! There was also a fair amount of travelling involved as me and the Mr. are in Nottingham and the party was in Louth, Lincolnshire. Lovely little place, I would recommend visiting if you ever get the chance! In case you are curious I went as Sally Rag Doll from Tim Burton’s The Nightmare Before Christmas. One of my favourite films of all time!

All things considered, I did manage to try one new thing this week. I have had my eye on this recipe for quite a while now, from recollection it was actually one of the first recipes that I “favourited” on Foodgawker. It’s called Bloomin Onion Bread.

I changed it slightly as I couldn’t find the same bread & opted to use chives instead of onion. Mainly because I had them in the cupboard.

So, this is what I used:

  • 4 Crusty cobs
  • 4 Slices of Gouda Cheese
  • Chives
  • Butter

Preheat your oven to 180°C.

What I did was slice the cobs in both directions in a “criss cross” fashion, taking care not to cut all the way through.Then I slotted sliced gouda cheese inbetween the slits.

At this point, I mixed some butter in a bowl and added chives then spread it along the tops of all 4 cobs. What I should have done, which I failed to notice in the recipe, (DUH!) is melt the butter, add the chives, then pour over the cobs and wrap in tin foil.

If I make them again I would definitely try melting the butter as I imagine it would improve the buttery taste throughout the whole cob as opposed to just on the top. I would also try it with onions  and possibly a little garlic as using chives made them a little bland.

Once you have prepared your cobs and wrapped them in tin foil, place them on a baking tray and pop in the oven for about 15 minutes. When the time is up, remove from the oven and discard the tin foil, put back in the oven for another 5-10 minutes until they’re golden on top & all the cheese has melted.

The original recipe called for sour dough cobs which I struggled to find. Next time I would use a more dense bread, as crusty cobs may be firm on the top but is a very airy bread in the middle so not as stable as I would have liked.

That being said, the concept is brilliant and this, or any variation of, would make a lovely accompaniment to any meal instead of boring bread and butter!

Definitely a recipe I will be playing with in the future.

Hope you enjoyed the post as always, See you soon!

Miss Kitchen Mason

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

