Japanese Mayo Chicken!

Here is another recipe I attempted from my Dad’s authentic Japanese cookbook Everyday Harumi. It’s called “Mini Chicken Fillets with Mayonaise.”

Yeah, I know. It doesn’t sound very Japanese and I think, to be honest, that’s what intrigued me about it in the first place. But I have been assured it is very much an authentic recipe so I thought I would give it a go!

What you will need:

  • 4 Skinless Mini Chicken Fillets
  • 1 tsp Light Soy Sauce
  • Grated Garlic, to taste
  • 2 tbsp Mayonnaise
  • 3 tbsp Grated Parmesan

I adapted these measurements slightly to make up for the fact that I used 6 mini fillets. I also ended up using a couple of tablespoons of Soy as opposed to teaspoons as I found it easier.

Preheat your oven to 230°C. Then you need to put the chicken fillets on a plate, spread the soy sauce & the garlic over them & leave to marinate for about 5 minutes.

Next, put them on a baking sheet lined with greaseproof paper. Don’t make the same mistake that I did. I thought I could make less washing up by putting them straight on the baking tray/paper and skipping the plate. WRONG! You end up with too much liquid on the greaseproof paper which makes it soggy & crinkled in the oven. This makes it difficult to get the chicken off without bits of paper on them! Lesson learnt haha.

So, when your chicken is on the baking tray (after being marinated on a plate!) spread over the mayo and then sprinkle the parmesan on top.

Pop in the oven for 7-8 minutes until golden brown on top. And there you have it! Me and the Mr enjoyed ours with some rice similar to what I made with the Teriyaki Chicken, although I substituted the spring onions & mushrooms for yellow onion & some tomatoes from the garden. If you wanted to keep it gluten free however, serve with a side salad.

According to the recipe book, these tasty treats can also be enjoyed cold and are just as delicious!

Hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I did. If you like my posts please support the blog by clicking on the “Sign me Up!” button on the home page.

Thanks again folks!

Miss Kitchen Mason

4 comments on “Japanese Mayo Chicken!

  1. Probably meant to be made with Japanese mayonnaise, such as Kewpie as it will taste totally different.

  2. It’s even in M&S sometimes! Pop into one of the bigger ones and it’s on the shelves in the international sections with the Japanese stuff. Or a Japanese shop of course!

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

