Jelly Cheesecake!

Yep, Jelly Cheesecake. Tastes a wrong as it sounds!

So I thought, just to prove that everyone has disasters  in the kitchen, that I would share with you one of my most recent epic fails!

This cheesecake should be called a White Chocolate & Raspberry Cheesecake. Now that sounds delicious! Hopefully when I share what went wrong for me, you guys can avoid all the mistakes I made haha!

I got the recipe from the Philadelphia iPhone app. If you are lucky enough to own one like me, or an iPad, it is free from the app store. If you don’t then here is where you need to go. White Chocolate & Raspberry Cheesecake.

The following is what you will need.

  • 200g Digestive biscuits
  • 50g Butter (I would change to 60g)
  • 400g Philadelphia Original
  • 150g Caster Sugar
  • 1 tsp Lemon Rind, grated
  • 2 tsp Powdered Gelatine
  • 200g White Chocolate
  • 200ml Double/Whipping Cream
  • 150g Frozen Raspberrys

Firstly, lightly grease a 20cm spring form pan.

Bash the digestives in a bag until they resemble fine crumbs. Melt the butter in a pan then mix the two together. Press this into the bottom of the prepared pan & set to one side. I found that there was too little butter in this mix and it ended up being too crumbly. So next time I would probably bump it up to about 60g.

Next, in a glass bowl over a pan of simmering water, melt the white chocolate & set aside to cool.

Then lightly whip the cream in a bowl & set to one side.

Mix the Philadelphia, lemon rind & caster sugar in a bowl then combine using an electric whisk until smooth.

Dissolve the gelatine in 50ml of boiling water and allow to cool. Always add the gelatine to the liquid and not the other way around.

Now it’s confession time. Note that the recipe calls for 2 teaspoons of gelatine and not 2 tablespoons. This would be a major fatal error on my part! Don’t bake whilst you are tired, or horrific mistakes like this can me made! But it doesn’t end there. Confession no.2. Be careful that you wait until the gelatine is cool and not cold. Because, if like me, you add the gelatine when it is cold, you end up having to slowly go through the entire mixture to find all the solidified bits of jelly you have just inadvertently stirred through your cheesecake! DOH!

Anyway… Next you need to combine all your ingredients. Add the white chocolate into the Philadelphia mix and combine thoroughly. Then add the cooled gelatine and stir until combined thoroughly. Then fold in the whipped cream until combined – and finally add the frozen raspberrys.

Pour this over the base you prepared earlier & allow to chill for at least 3 hours.

Hopefully, if you avoid all the silly mistakes I made due to tiredness & general stupidity, your cheesecakes will turn out delicious!

The flavours, I must admit, are absolutely gorgeous. I was gutted with the texture but all you can do is have a good giggle at yourself and think, well, if we didn’t make mistakes we would never learn anything! Haha!

If you have any funny kitchen mishaps you would like to share, please feel free to leave a comment. It would make me feel better to know that I am not the only one who makes silly mistakes!

Once again, hope you enjoyed the read. And if you like what you see please support my blog by subscribing!

Miss Kitchen Mason

One comment on “Jelly Cheesecake!

  1. […] while back I attempted a White chocolate & raspberry cheesecake… it didn’t work out so well! I totally misread the recipe and added 2 tbsp of gelatine […]

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

