Mars Bar Oat Bar!

So I had every intention of making Teriyaki Chicken on Saturday night, I even borrowed my Dad’s Japanese cook book to make it the authentic way. Thing is, there was this bizarre heatwave here in Nottingham, UK. Yes, in October, we were all in our summer clothes! So I accidentally fell into the pub… as you do. Now I have tried to operate my oven whilst under the influence before and I do not recommend it! Last time, I tried to make a batch of cookies & burnt my finger due to slow reactions haha DO NOT TRY THIS AT HOME! Instead, I opted for a pizza, X-Factor & more Pear Cider, which I feel worked out rather well for me! On a totally separate note, drunken cooking reminds me of a really funny channel on YouTube called My Drunk Kitchen. It’s absolutely hilarious and you guys should go check it out!

So to make up for a broken promise, I thought I would treat you all to this beauty of a recipe. The Mars Bar Oat Bar. This recipe is from Pepsakoy. It’s another that has been on my Foodgawker “to do” list for a while.

Here is what you will need:

  • 2 1/2 Standard sized Mars Bars
  • 60ml Double Cream
  • 90g Rolled Oats
  • 125g Plain Flour
  • 5 tbsp Light Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 tsp Bicarbonated Soda
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 142g Butter
  • 90g Chocolate, chopped (Or Chocolate Chips)

Preheat your oven to 180°C and prepare your tin. I used a square silicone dish so I didn’t need to grease, I simply lined with baking paper – overhanging slightly so it would be extra easy to get out at the end.

First, put the Mars Bars & double cream in a pan over a low to medium heat and melt. Leave aside to cool.

Next, sift the flour into a bowl along with the oats, brown sugar, bicarbonated soda & salt & mix well. Then blend the butter into the mix with a fork or fingers until it comes together to form a dough.

Press half the mixture into the bottom of the prepared dish & bake for about 20 mins. (Or until just golden on the edges.) Remove from the oven and leave to cool for about 5-10 minutes.

Next, scatter the chocolate chips/chunks over the base and then pour over the melted Mars Bar mixture. This next bit I found to be a little messy but it’s worth it! Press the rest of the oat mix over the top as even as you can and then place back in the oven for a further 20-25 minutes, until golden on top.

Remove from the oven and allow to cool in the dish. Then cut into about 12 pieces and devour!

These really are delightful, and nowhere near as sickly as I thought they would be. I think when I make them again I will try and use a different chocolate bar like a Cadburys Caramel or maybe a Terrys Chocolate Orange. Or maybe even some melted white chocolate with some dried cranberrys thrown in the mix instead of chocolate chips… mmm the mind wanders!  This could be a very versatile recipe me thinks!

Once again, apologies for breaking a promise but I hope I made it up to you with these tasty treats!

Until next time : D

Miss Kitchen Mason

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

