Bacon, Cheese & Chive Scones!

And yes, to me, it’s Scones not Scons!

So my Mum mentioned the other day that she wondered why I didn’t make anything savoury for her to eat. Hint hint – not much! Haha. My Mum isn’t like me, in the sense that I have a MASSIVE sweet tooth and she doesn’t. So when my brain can only think of sweet thinks like cookies & cakes, I asked her what she had in mind. She said cheese scones. Something I haven’t made before. But I have to admit I liked the idea. I mean, I’ve made normal sweet scones before, just not savoury scones. So I started looking on Foodgawker & came up trumps with this beauty of a recipe! It’s from Linda at Lemon Drop.

Makes approx 18

What you will need:

  • 450g Flour
  • 1 tbsp Baking Powder
  • 1tsp Salt
  • 1tsp Pepper
  • 110g Butter, grated
  • 150g Strong Cheddar, grated
  • 1.5 tbsp Chives, dry (3 tbsp if fresh)
  • 10 Bacon slices, cooked crispy & chopped small
  • 300ml Milk
  • 1 Egg & 2 tbsp Double cream for glazing

Preheat your oven to 200°C & line baking tray with baking paper.

In a really large bowl, sift in the flour, then add the baking powder, the salt & pepper and the butter. Mix together with a fork until everything is evenly distributed.

Next, add in the cheese, chives & bacon. Again, mix with a fork until evenly distributed.

When everything is mixed well, start to add the milk a little at a time, still mixing with a fork. Once all the milk has been used it should form a sticky dough.

On a lightly floured surface, gently pat down the dough to about 1cm thickness. Then fold the dough in half and pat down to 1cm thickness again. Do this a few times but on the last time, leave the height at about 2cm.

Next, using either a cookie cutter or a glass, cut out your scones & place them on the prepared baking tray. And don’t throw the leftover dough away, just re-mould it and cut out some more until you aren’t left with any dough.

Beat the egg in a bowl along with the double cream & brush on the tops of the scones. Then put a dent in the tops of all the scones before they go in the oven for about 15 minutes.

And there you have it! Savoury cheese, bacon & chive scones. I must say they are pretty delicious. Especially sliced in half with a bit of real butter on them.

Although I must make a confession.  Mine didn’t rise so well. And now I know why. Those of you who read the Honey I’m Comb post will remember that I had a little issue with the use by date on my bicarbonated soda whilst making honeycomb. Erm, yeah… same thing with my baking powder! It sort of went out of date in January. Whoops! Silly me. this problem has since been rectified and I’m such a muppet for letting it happen again! What a plum.

Anyhoo… that’s my midweek munchies satisfied.

Thanks for reading and I will see you all at the weekend when I am going to be attempting Teriyaki Chicken.

Miss Kitchen Mason

4 comments on “Bacon, Cheese & Chive Scones!

  1. Dad says:

    You are a plum and a muppet! The only plum coloured muppet I can think of is Gonzo! Is that you?
    Not tried the scones yet but I will, marvellous isn’t it, all the stuff you make and I get a scone, where’s all the other tasters ?

    As for making Terrys Yaki Chicken ….It’s pretty easy and you could have borrowed my Japanese cookbook if you’d asked but I am sure food gawker (other sites are available) will provide you with an American version of Japanese recipe.

    Tara for now

  2. Yes… i am the real Gonzo! And don’t be so ungrateful you cheeky mare! Hahaha. You could always give the book to Mum to bring to work on Friday for me, I do prefer authentic recipes where I can get them : D

    Hope you have fun wherever you decide to go and eat tomorrow!

  3. Ok so now I have to go bake scones ! Thank you 🙂

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

