Chocolate Pie with a Twist!

Hello my lovely foodies! I’ve got an interesting one for you guys this week. This chocolate pie recipe is from an amazing blog called Chocolate Covered Katie. This website caters for all kinds of dietary needs such as vegan, non dairy, gluten free & many more. This recipe particularly caught my eye due to one of the surprising ingredients, the time it takes to make & the fact that it is so low in calories for a chocolate pud!

It’s another recipe in American measurements so I have converted it to UK. So… here we go, this is what you will need to create Katie’s Chocolate Pie:

  • 350g Silken firm tofu
  • 250g Chocolate (I used 150g Dark & 100g Milk)
  • 1 tsp Cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp Vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp Milk
  • 2tbsp Agave syrup (sweetener)
  • 1 x Pastry Case (If you want to be lazy like me!)

Serves 8 (Approx 316 calories per serving)

I know right?? Tofu!! In a pudding!? Now you know why I had to make it. I had to try it for myself to see if it really didn’t taste like tofu. And I really hoped it wouldn’t as I am not to keen on it haha!

So I took a bit of a risk with this one. But as is always helpful on blogs, I read the comments and pretty much all of them were saying how yummy it was and how much you wouldn’t be able to tell it had tofu in it.

So I had a trip to the shops & once I had figured out where the hell to find tofu I was on my way to discovery!

I cannot explain how ridiculously quick & easy this is to make. It literally takes 10 minutes.

Melt your chocolate either in a microwave or in a glass bowl over a pan of simmering water. (In hindsight I wish I had used all milk chocolate as the final taste was very rich and I would have preferred it to have been a little sweeter.)

Then plop everything in a blender and blitz until it’s all really really smooth & pour into your pastry case.

It doesn’t take very long to set once you’ve put it in the fridge. I could cut it into slices after an hour. The longer you leave it, the harder it gets.

So there you have it. Chocolate Pie with a twist. It’s far more delicious than I anticipated and I guarantee that if you got someone to try it & didn’t tell them it had tofu in it… they would never guess it!

Don’t forget to go and check out Katie’s blog: http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/ her recipes are total genius!

That’s all for now my fellow foodies, enjoy & see you soon!

Miss Kitchen Mason

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

