Sizzling Chicken Enchiladas!

 

This recipe is one I promised the other half I would master. He has a thing for Mexican food and I must admit, it’s starting to rub off on me! This particular one I have made before but it went a little wrong. In other words, I was impatient, misread the recipe & sort of codged it up! So this time I wanted to get it right. The recipe comes courtesy of Lacey over at A Sweet Pea Chef. Once again, it’s american measurements so here is what I converted.

  • 2 x Garlic cloves
  • 1 x Enchilada sauce (I used Old El Paso original)
  • 2 x Chicken breasts
  • 200g Cheese
  • Tortilla wraps (I used 4)
  • Fresh Parsley

First you need to chop your garlic and fry it lightly in a little oil, then add the enchilada sauce to the pan. Bring this to the boil and plop in your chicken breasts. Simmer for about 20 minutes until the chicken is cooked through and your nose starts twitching.

Take the chicken breasts out of the sauce and put them in a bowl. Leave the sauce aside to cool and start shredding the chicken with two forks. Next, add half the cheese, half the sauce & half the parsley into the bowl with the chicken & mix thoroughly. Now you are ready to wrap the tortillas.

If you have a spray oil, use it to coat the outside of your tortilla then put a line of filling down the middle and roll up firmly. Place seam side down in your chosen dish then rinse and repeat. If you don’t have a spray oil, lightly brush the tops of the tortillas with oil. Put them in a 220°C oven for 10 minutes, or until the tops start to go crispy & golden.

When they are ready, turn your oven down to 200°C and remove the dish. Pour the rest of the sauce on top followed by the remaining cheese and parsley. Cover loosely with foil and put back into the oven for about 20 mins.

When your timer starts beeping, remove the foil from the top and keep in the oven until the cheese on the top starts bubbling. Next, remove from your oven and devour like savages!! Although I would probably give it a few minutes to cool… another mistake I learnt the hard way haha!

So there we have it ladies & gents, Chicken Enchiladas. I must say, second time around… million times better. This was unbelievably yummy. My other half said to me “That’s one of my top 5 dinners that is!” which as you can imagine, made me rather chuffed. (Especially knowing how many dinners I have made him over the years!)

As always, thanks so much for reading! Any questions please don’t hesitate to ask & if you like reading my posts, don’t forget to click the “sign me up!” button to subscribe.

Until next week my fellow foodies!

Miss Kitchen Mason

 

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

