Home Grown Pizza!

This weekend I decided to go for simple but delicious. A home made pizza. As a house warming gift, I was given chilli & purple pepper plants. I had also just ransacked my Gran’s garden & returned home with some amazingly flavourful tomatoes & some home grown chives.

So I cheated a little and bought the dough mix. However, I decided to mix things up a little this time and chucked in some oregano.  I’ve not done this before but I figure it can only improve the flavour. Here’s hoping!

Once I had made the dough, rolled it out & prepared two trays as above, (one for me, one for the other half) I realised there was a little dough left. So instead of wasting it I decide to roll out two little circles, then sprinkle on some grated mozzarella & some garlic salt. They only took about 6 minutes in the oven. Et vous voila! Mini garlic bread pizza with an oregano base! I can assure you, they tasted as calorific & yummy as they look.

So then came the hard part. I had to choose what was going to top my pizza. I started by chopping all the “garden picked” veg & herbs and laying them all out so I knew what I was dealing with.

I started by spreading some creamed tomatoes onto the oregano base & sprinkled over a handful of mozzarella. I then found myself staring at this chopping board full of colourful, delicious looking home grown produce. (All bar the onion anyway!) I just thought, bugger it! I’m having the lot! So I preceded to pile it all onto my pizza. And this was the, may I say, very pretty result!

 

It went into the oven at 200°C for 15 mins as per the dough packet instructions. And it came out better than I expected. I think there is something to be said for using home grown produce. It all tastes so much better than shop bought. It’s also incredibly satisfying knowing that you grew it! Well, granted, my Gran grew most of this but next year when I’ve got my garden the way I want it, it will all, fingers crossed, be grown by me!

To be honest though, I’ve not had much luck with plants this year. I started some chilli & sweet pepper plants off but my cats ate all the seedlings! They also ate half my tomato seedlings too. Little sods! Thus the chilli plant & pepper plant as house warming gifts haha. All I have remaining is 5 Alicante tomato plants, a tub of potatoes which was my other halfs project & some beetroots that my lovely Gran gave to me!

Which, in all fairness, ain’t bad for a totally novice gardener! I can only get better, I hope!

Thanks so much again for reading.

Miss Kitchen Mason

2 comments on “Home Grown Pizza!

  1. DAD says:

    Way to go Em’
    I’ll be there at the weekend, about time I got a taster!!!!

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

