House Warming Cookies!

Hi everyone! Apologies for the delay in a new post I’ve been very busy moving house. We’ve been in for just over a week and I’m finally getting the chance to really use my new amazing kitchen! The best part of which is my new beast of an oven. It was left by the previous owners and to be honest, it’s one of the things that made me really want the house! Well, that & the kitchen as a whole. In comparison to the cruddy electric (not even fan assisted) oven we had at the rented place, which made biscuits into cakes & cakes into half uncooked & half burnt lumps of uglyness, this is a dream for me!

The Beast

So I figured the first thing I gotta do is check whether this oven turns biscuits into cakes too. So I found a basic chocolate chip cookie recipe & adapted it slightly. It yields 18 fairly giant cookies. The ingredients are as follows.

  • 250g Plain flour
  • 1/2 tsp Bicarbonated soda
  • 1/2 tsp Sea salt
  • 170g Butter, melted
  • 220g Brown sugar
  • 110g Castor sugar
  • 1tbsp Vanilla extract
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 Egg yolk
  • 200g Milk chocolate – chopped into largish pieces
  • 1 x 100g Bag white chocolate chips

Ok, so first you’ve got to preheat your oven to 160°C & spray a large baking tray with oil. You could line it but I’m pretty lazy and have a low calorie oil spray in the cupboard anyway & it’s perfect for coating your baking trays!

Next sift together the flour, bicarbonated soda & salt and set aside.

Then, using an electric whisk, cream together the brown sugar, the castor sugar & the melted butter in a large mixing bowl. When that is combined, add the vanilla & the eggs.

Grab your sifted dry ingredients and start to slowly add them into the wet mixture. When this is just blended, add your white chocolate chips & mix until evenly distributed within the mixture.

Then splodge a tablespoons worth of dough on your baking tray, push on a few pieces of chopped milk chocolate & repeat until your tray is full. Try and keep a good 2″ between each cookie as these spread during cooking.

Pop into the oven for about 16mins, they should be just turning golden on the edges & looking a bit wrinkly when they are done. Leave to cool on the tray for a few mins before transferring to a cooling rack.

Next thing to do is STUFF YOUR FACE! These are so yummy when still warm as they are crunchy on the edge and soft & gooey in the middle.

Well, I think it’s confirmed. My new oven is awesome! Cookies actually come out like cookies. *Smile*

I can’t wait to get back into a normal routine & really get cooking in this baby! We will be having a party over the coming weeks so no doubt I will be writing up a house warming special!

Thanks again for reading.

Miss Kitchen Mason

3 comments on “House Warming Cookies!

  1. Dad says:

    Welcome to your new home Emma (not forgetting Dan too !)

    Nice to see that you have finally got to use the kitchen as a place to create.
    As usual you haven’t saved me any so I’ll just go with the pics, Nice!

    What are you planning for the ‘party’ ?

    • If you’re quick there are actually a few left! And Jay & Sarah popped round yesterday & sampled them fresh from the oven. All I got was “Oh my god these are so addictive!” so i’m pretty sure they liked them!
      I’ve no idea what to do for the house warming get together yet though. Any ideas?

  2. […] cookie recipe I used is the House Warming Cookies from a couple of months back. I made a batch of these a few days before the dinner party so as to […]

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

