Honey I’m Comb!

Whilst I was waiting for the pork to cook I decided to get going on pudding. Chocolate mousse with home made honeycomb. Now THIS I was really excited to try! The mousse I have made before but I’ve never tried make honeycomb. And it always looked like so much fun!
I made the mousse first. It’s a very simple recipe.
  • 75 g Dark chocolate (Gluten free for coeliacs)
  • 2 Eggs, seperated
  • 25 g Butter
  • 2  tbsp Golden caster sugar
Even if you don’t care much for dark chocolate, like myself, I would strongly recommend using it in this recipe. It doesn’t matter so much about the high cocoa content though. In fact, it will combine much better if you use a standard dark chocolate.
First you need to melt the butter and chocolate together over a double boiler. (Glass bowl over a pan with simmering water.) Then leave to one side to cool.
Next, using an electric whisk, mix together the sugar & egg whites & whisk until stiff peaks are formed. When it is ready you should be able to turn the bowl upside down over your head and the mixture will stay in the bowl. (Hopefully!)
Then mix the yolks into the chocolate mixture until silky & smooth. Now you need to carefully fold the chocolate mixture into the egg whites. Make sure the chocolate is cool though otherwise you will end up with a yucky grainy mousse instead of a smooth rich mousse.
Pour the mousse into small glasses or whatever you want to serve them in, and leave to set in the fridge for at least an hour.
I love this mousse recipe. It’s so smooth & rich in flavour, definitely better than shop bought & so simple to make!
Next it was on to the Honeycomb. The ingredients are as follows.
  • 100 g Caster Sugar
  • 2 level tbsp Golden syrup
  • 1 heaped tsp Bicarbonated soda
Yep. That’s it. 3 Ingredients. Be sure to get everything ready and set out before you start though as this process happens very quickly!
First you put the sugar & the syrup in a pan over a low heat. Be patient waiting for it to melt. Don’t be tempted to turn the heat up. As soon as it has melted and starts to turn a dark caramel colour, quickly mix in the bicarbonated soda and immediately pour the mixture out onto a silicone baking tray. You could also use greaseproof paper on a chopping board.
Now my first attempt didn’t go very well as you can see. Stop laughing. No seriously, I can hear you stop it. It’s a sorry looking peace of chewy horrible honeycomb I know. But then I noticed something. The use by date on the bicarbonated soda I had was march 2010. HAHA. No wonder it didn’t flippin work!
After a quick phone call to the other half asking him to buy some more on the way home from work all hope was restored!
When he arrived I quickly got back to work. And the results this time was literally the closest thing you will ever see to magic in a kitchen!
As soon as it was cool I put it in the fridge to set completely. This only took about 10 – 15 minutes.
It was perfect. It was exactly like a crunchie but without the chocolate! And it really was so much fun to make, I would recommend this recipe to anyone.
So that was my kitchen adventures for this weekend. Hope you enjoyed the read & I will see you all again next week!
Miss Kitchen Mason
3 comments on “Honey I’m Comb!

  1. Dad says:

    So ……… What next ?

    Oh wait I remember now, over to the (pa)rents for a BBQ …….. or rather Rebekah’s birthday bash 😉 maybe you can do a write up on ‘dads’ BBQ offerings seeing as you won’t be cooking?

    Joking aside, Loving the blog …… but where was my pulled pork cob (thats a bread roll or bap for any southern softies reading) and Chocolate and Honeycomb? all that hype and no tasting you really must try harder ..

    Off to HUNGARY tomorrow (you can spell that HUNGRY if you like) , how very apt ;P

    Dad
    x

    • I can assure you there was lots of tasting going on, but mostly by me! And I will be making some treats to eat this weekend anyway.

      I may very well have to take some photos of your grub on Saturday though, & there is always the weekend when you are helping me move for more pulled pork cobs! 5 minutes of effort and then just plug it in. Sounds like a plan…

      Have a good trip to Hungary though and I’ll see you when you get back.

      x

  2. […] make a confession.  Mine didn’t rise so well. And now I know why. Those of you who read the Honey I’m Comb post will remember that I had a little issue with the use by date on my bicarbonated soda whilst […]

Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

