It’s all Crackers!

So my first food gawking adventure today was to make my very own crackers.

I have never made crackers before so was quite excited to see how they were done.

I used this lovely post by Katie@Diethood  Rosemary & Garlic Crackers

So First thing’s first. US measurements tend to confuse me somewhat. I always feel a little more comfortable using measurements that I can visualise in my head. so, for the benefit of people like me, here are what I worked out to be the UK equivalents of the measurements Katie gives.

220g Plain Flour

1 tsp Baking Powder

1 tsp Sea Salt

3-4 tsp Dried herb/spice of choice ( I went with chives as that’s what I had in my cupboard)

160 ml Warm Water

80 ml Olive Oil

With the liquids, I poured them into a jug together and kept adding to the dry mix a little at a time until combined. There was still about 50 ml of combined liquids left at the end that I didn’t feel the need to use. The dough I got was slightly wet which worked perfectly when you stretched it over the baking trays.

I felt they were done when they were just turning golden on top & when you tapped the bottom of them they were crispy. The outer crackers seemed to be done a little quicker so i just popped the middle ones back in the oven for another few minutes so they all turned out as yummy as each other.

You really could experiment as much as you like with the flavours in this recipe, which I can assure you I intend to do. I’m already planning the Christmas cheese board in my head! (Yes I know we’re still only in June!)

So in short, making home made crackers = Total Win! They are so much yummier than shop bought & make your home smell divine!

MissKitchenMason


Any Questions or Comments? Ask Away!

